How to possibly get your Music in Video Games

Last year I wrote a nice little article for Beatportal (Beatport’s Blog) for aspiring composers or electronic music producers about how to possibly get their music into video games. I also got my good friend Erik Pettersson to write a portion of the article about Sound Programming as well!

Many people seemed to have enjoyed the inside tips so it’s a perfect fit to repost the link here again:

http://www.beatportal.com/feed/item/how-to-get-music-in-video-games/

Quick Excerpt from the article:

Many producers and DJs often wonder how they can get their music on video games. The good news is that there are many different ways one can get involved, but first you need to decide which path to take.

– Are you composer/producer/record label who is trying to license music for video games?

– Are you a composer who wants to specifically write a score for a video game?

– Are you a sound designer who wants to make and implement sound effects for video games and maybe even become an audio programmer?

Each role has its own path and requires different skill sets, so let’s examine each path…

~ by Kris Giampa on August 9, 2010.

3 Responses to “How to possibly get your Music in Video Games”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kris G aka Red-Eye, Kris G aka Red-Eye and soundseller, soundseller. soundseller said: RT @REDEYEMUSIC: Updated Sound Design for Video Games blog! How to possibly get your music into Video Games repost! Check it out! http://fb.me/v7aNCYcJ […]

  2. Just found your blog (linked from nickstutorials.com). I’m definetly bookmarking it. Its cool to have such a great professional sharing tips, tricks and maybe some fun stories too. I’m studying informatic ingeneering, I’m a pc gamer, dj, techno producer (with ableton live), and I’m slowly moving into videogames programming (java sometimes, XNA with c# some others). My ideal work may seem obvious, but im still not decided to do audio full time (i really enjoy programming game logic and graphics, not so much audio ).
    But i guess this blog is something that could come in handy in the near future. Keep it up!

  3. I gotta say I’m very glad I found this you and this blog. My friend is going to school to achieve his goal of starting his own video game company. He has already given me the responsibility of creating all the audio. Having gone to school for Television Broadcasting I do have some experience in audio production, but as for translating it into gaming, I don’t have the first clue on how to get started. Nor do I have the money to go back to school to learn more. This is why I really appreciate that you’re taking the time to blog at all. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
